top of page



The San Francisco-Osaka City Association helps build bridges of friendship and commerce between these two vital centers of culture and finances.

Its programs support individual and civic exchanges that foster better understanding and appreciation between citizens on both sides of the Pacific Ocean.

The Association was founded in 1957 under the leadership of Mayor George Christopher, and it is San Francisco's oldest sister city relationship. The Association celebrated its 50th Anniversary in 2007 in many memorable way, including the San Francisco delegation led by Mayor Newsom to Osaka, visit by Mr. and Mrs. Takenaka of Takenaka Corporation to participate in Cherry Blossom Festival Grand Parade, and unveiling of Osaka Way in Japan Town during the visit of Osaka delegation led by Mayor Seki. We celebrated the 60th anniversary of the Association in 2017. The highlight was the San Francisco delegation trip to Osaka in November, which solidified the people-to-people friendship between the cities of Osaka and San Francisco.


The Association is administered by an Executive Committee. Board members and the administrative staff all volunteer their time and resources.

siste cities of SF.jpg

Executive Committee

Mayor London Breed

Consul General Yo Osumi

Alexander Calhoun

Allen Okamoto

Kathleen Kimura

Misako Maki Sack

Mark Chandler

Melissa Chan

Janice Cheung

Emily Murase​

Honorary Chairperson

Honorary Chairperson

Chariman Emeritus



Executive Director

International Liaison

Outreach Manager


Student Ambassador Program Chair

2023 Board of Directors

Mark Chandler - Mayor’s Office

Janice Cheung

Nobuko Saito Cleary

Miharu Furihata, Esq. - Squire Patton Boggs LLP

Junichiro Ikeda - U.S. Bank

Karen Kai, Esq.

Steve Katayama, Japan Airlines

Kathleen Kimura, MBE

Emily Murase - Japantown Task Force

John Noguchi 

Allen M. Okamoto - T. Okamoto & Co.

Yu Oku - Nippon Travel Agency

Jerry Ono

Paul Osaki - Japanese Cultural & Community Center

Thomas Radcliffe, Esq.

Misako Maki Sack - Morrison & Foerster

Marius Starkey

Steve Teraoka, Esq. - Teraoka & Partners

Kyoko Watanabe - DEFTA Partners

John Wong

Jan Yanehiro

Tasha Yorozu, Esq. - Miura & Partners (US)

bottom of page